Habsburger Show

See the Habsburg family come alive before your eyes in the Imperial Theatre. On a stage which is based on the Imperial Theatre at Schönbrunn Palace, Sisi (Elisabeth of Austria), Franz Josef, Maria Theresa and Emperor Maximilian will talk with lots of wit and humour about everyday imperial life and the history of the House of Habsburg. What was the recipe for success of the individual rulers and who founded the Habsburg marriage policy? Learn more about the 640-year history of the Habsburg monarchy in Austria and get to know the Habsburg family tree in an entertaining way. The imperial family awaits you for a personal audience.
 

Skyline Wien

Background information of the Habsburg monarchy

The Beginnings of the House of Habsburg (1278 - 1918)

The name Habsburg dates back to the Habichtsburg, the ancestral seat of the Habsburgs, in the Swiss town of Aargau. Count Rudolf of Habsburg was the first Habsburg on the throne of the Holy Roman Empire. In 1273, the imperial princes elected him Roman-German king.

The pedigree of the Habsburgs begins with Rudolf I von Habsburg. With him, the Habsburgs came from his home region in Switzerland into the Danube region. Rudolf I founded the 640-year rule in Austria in 1278 after the successful battle of Dürnkrut over the King of Bohemia Ottokar II. The end of the Habsburg monarchy was numbered 1918 when World War I was lost and Austria became the first republic.

The Habsburgs of the Late Middle Ages - Austrian and Spanish Line - (1450 - 1700)

Frederic III. managed to establish the dynasty in the circle of European powers. His son Maximilian I was the founder of the successful Habsburg marriage policy. The famous motto of Maximilian I was: "May other countries wage wars, you happy Austria marry." Maximilian was married to the rich and only heir - Maria of Burgundy - and so these lands, including the rich Netherlands, came to Austria.

The Habsburgs ruled also in Spain, as well as in Bohemia and Hungary. Maximilian's grandson - Charles V - ruled over an empire in which the sun never set. Charles V was exposed to a power struggle with France and a religious war with Martin Luther.

After the abdication of Charles V, the dynasty was divided into two lines, a Spanish and an Austrian line. His brother Ferdinand received the Austrian ancestral lands, Bohemia and Hungary. He was constantly busy repelling the Ottomans.

Charles' son - Philipp, the Fair - founded the Spanish line. This created the basis for the rise of Austria to become a European great power. Between both lines there were close ties in the form of mutual marriages resulting in ancestral loss and degeneration. The Spanish line died out in 1700.

Due to the defeat in the War of Spanish Succession (1701-14), the Habsburgs could only dispose of the southern Netherlands, Naples and Milan.

Important rulers of the Baroque period to Biedermeier (1700 - mid 19th century)

Emperor Charles VI, who had no male heirs, issued the "Pragmatic Sanction" in 1713. She declared the Habsburg hereditary lands indivisible and secured the throne of his eldest daughter Maria Theresia.

The marriage of Maria Theresa with Francis Stephen of Lorraine founded the family Habsburg-Lorraine and a secure continuation of the dynasty thanks to their 16 children. She gave birth to 11 daughters and 5 sons, with only 10 of them reaching adulthood. These were married to leading aristocratic homes across Europe. One of her most famous daughters was Marie Antoinette, who was executed during the French Revolution. Maria Theresia reigned from 1740-1780, renovated the state budget and introduced many innovations, for example the compulsory education. As a summer residence, the Habsburgs used the Schönbrunn Palace.

In 1804, her grandson Franz proclamed the Austrian Empire. Two years later, under pressure from Napoleon, the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation was dissolved after almost a thousand years.

He was followed by his first-born son, Ferdinand I, the benevolent, who, however, suffered from epilepsy and was not really able to govern. At the time, State Chancellor Metternich and his system set the tone. It was the time of the Vormärz from the Congress of Vienna in 1815 until the March Revolution of 1848.

The regency of Emperor Francis Joseph I until the end of the monarchy (1848 - 1918)

In 1848 Emperor Francis Joseph I - the great-great-grandson of Maria Theresa - ascended the throne. His time was marked by many political defeats. The Battle of Hradec Kralove in 1866 witnessed it when the Habsburgs disappeared from the all-German map.

In 1867 it came to a settlement with Hungary and the Habsburg Empire was renamed the Austro-Hungarian double monarchy. Until their deposition at the end of the First World War in 1918, the Habsburg title of the kings of Hungary remained.

Emperor Francis Joseph I, the penultimate emperor, ruled for 68 years and thus longer than any other member of the House before him. He died at the age of 86 in the middle of the First World War in November 1916. His beloved wife Elisabeth, better known as Sisi, was only at his side at the beginning. She preferred warmer climates and tried to avoid the strict ceremonial of the Viennese court.

Together they had four children, three daughters and a son. Her only son, Crown Prince Rudolf, committed suicide at a young age together with his lover Mary Vetsera. This went down in history as the tragedy of Mayerling.

Until the beginning of the 20th century, the Habsburgs held the multi-ethnic state with a population of approximately 51 million inhabitants in 13 countries. The assassination of the heir to the throne Franz Ferdinand in Sarajevo on 28.6.1914 was one of the triggers of World War I, which lasted from 1914 to 1918.

The last Habsburg emperor was Charles I, the grandnephew of Franz Joseph I. Charles ruled only two years from 1916 - 1918, that is, until the end of the monarchy. He was exiled to Madeira together with his wife Zita, as he never abdicated officially as an emperor.

In 1918, the rule of the House of Habsburg ended after 640 years with the defeat in the First World War. In Austria, the First Republic was proclaimed in November 1918.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

Habsburgershow

Im kaiserlichen Theater sehen Sie die Habsburger Familie vor Ihren Augen zum Leben erwachen. Auf einer dem Schlosstheater Schönbrunn nachempfundenen Bühne, erzählen Sisi, Franz Joseph, Maria Theresia und Kaiser Maximilian mit viel Witz und Humor über den kaiserlichen Alltag. Was war das Erfolgsrezept der einzelnen Herrscher und wer hat die habsburgische Heiratspolitik begründet? Erfahren Sie mehr über die  640-jährige Geschichte der Habsburgermonarchie in Österreich und lernen Sie den Stammbaum der Habsburger auf unterhaltsame Art und Weise kennen. Das Kaiserhaus erwartet Sie zu einer persönlichen Audienz.

Skyline Wien

Hintergrundinformation zur Habsburger-Monarchie

Die Anfänge des Hauses Habsburg (1278 - 1918)

Der Name Habsburg geht auf die Habichtsburg, der Stammburg der Habsburger, im schweizerischen Aargau zurück. Graf Rudolf von Habsburg war der erste Habsburger auf dem Thron des Heiligen Römischen Reichs. Im Jahr 1273 wählten ihn die Reichsfürsten zum römisch-deutschen König.

Der Stammbaum der Habsburger beginnt also mit Rudolf I. von Habsburg. Mit ihm kam das Geschlecht der Habsburger aus seinem Stammgebiet in der Schweiz in den Donauraum. Rudolf I. begründete die 640 Jahre dauernde Herrschaft in Österreich im Jahre 1278 nach der erfolgreichen Schlacht bei Dürnkrut über den Böhmenkönig Ottokar II. Das Ende der Habsburgermonarchie wird mit 1918 beziffert als der 1. Weltkrieg verloren und Österreich zur 1. Republik wurde.

Die Habsburger des Spätmittelalters - österreichische und spanische Linie - (1450 - 1700)

Friedrich III. gelang es die Dynastie im Kreis der europäischen Mächte zu etablieren. Sein Sohn Maximilian I. war der Begründer der erfolgreichen, habsburgischen Heiratspolitik. Der berühmte Wahlspruch von Maximilian I. lautete: "Mögen andere Länder Kriege führen, du glückliches Österreich heirate." Maximilian wurde mit der reichen und einzigen Erbin - Maria von Burgund -  verheiratet, und so kamen diese Ländereien inkl. der reichen Niederlande zu Österreich. 

Die Habsburger regierten auch in Spanien, sowie in Böhmen und Ungarn. Maximilians Enkel - Karl V. - regierte über ein Weltreich, in dem die Sonne nie unterging.  Karl V. war einem Machtkampf mit Frankreich und einem Glaubenskrieg mit Martin Luther ausgesetzt.

Nach der Abdankung Karls V. wurde die Dynastie in zwei Linien geteilt, in eine spanische und eine österreichische Linie. Sein Bruder Ferdinand erhielt die österreichischen Erbländer, Böhmen und Ungarn. Er war permanent beschäftigt die Osmanen abzuwehren.

Karls  Sohn - Philipp, der Schöne - begründete die spanische Linie. Dies schuf die Grundlage für den Aufstieg Österreichs zur europäischen Großmacht. Zwischen beiden Linien bestanden enge Bindungen in Form von gegenseitigen Heiraten was zu Ahnenverlust und Degeneration führte. Die spanische Linie starb 1700 aus.

Durch die Niederlage im spanischen Erbfolgekrieg (1701-14) konnten die Habsburger nur mehr über die südlichen Niederlande, Neapel und Mailand verfügen.

Wichtige Herrscher der Barockzeit bis Biedermeier (1700 - Mitte 19. Jh.)

Kaiser Karl VI, der über keine männlichen Erben verfügte, erließ 1713 die "Pragmatische Sanktion". Sie erklärte die habsburgischen Erblande für unteilbar und sicherte seiner ältesten Tochter Maria Theresia den Thron.

Die Heirat Maria Theresias mit Franz Stephan von Lothringen begründete das Geschlecht Habsburg-Lothringen und ein sicheres Fortbestehen der Dynastie dank ihrer 16 Kinder. Sie gebar 11 Töchter und 5 Söhne, wobei nur zehn der Kinder das Erwachsenenalter erreichten. Diese wurden mit führenden Adelshäusern in ganz Europa verheiratet. Eine ihrer berühmtesten Töchter war Marie Antoinette, die im Zuge der französischen Revolution hingerichtet wurde. Maria Theresia herrschte von 1740-1780, sanierte den Staatshaushalt und führte viele Neuerungen ein, u.a. die Unterrichtspflicht.  Als Sommerresidenz nutzten die Habsburger das Schloss Schönbrunn.

1804 proklamierte ihr Enkel Franz das Kaisertum Österreich.  Zwei Jahre später löste er unter dem Druck Napoleons das Heilige Römische Reich Deutscher Nation nach knapp tausend Jahren auf.

Ihm folgte sein erstgeborener Sohn, Ferdinand I, der Gütige, der allerdings an Epilepsie litt und nicht wirklich regierungsfähig war. Tonangebend in dieser Zeit war Staatskanzler Metternich und sein System. Es war die Zeit des Vormärz vom Wiener Kongress 1815 bis zur Märzrevolution 1848.

Die Regentschaft von Kaiser Franz Joseph I. bis zum Ende der Monarchie (1848 - 1918)

1848 bestieg Kaiser Franz Joseph I - der Ururenkel von Maria Theresia - den Thron. Seine Zeit war von vielen politischen Niederlagen geprägt. Die Schlacht von Königgrätz im Jahr 1866 zeugte davon, als die Habsburger von der gesamtdeutschen Landkarte verschwanden.

1867 kam es zum Ausgleich mit Ungarn und das Habsburgerreich wurde in die österreichisch-ungarische Doppelmonarchie umbenannt. Bis zu ihrer Absetzung am Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges im Jahr 1918, blieben die Habsburger Könige von Ungarn.

Kaiser Franz Joseph I, der vorletzte Kaiser, regierte 68 Jahre lang und somit länger als alle anderen Mitglieder des Hauses vor ihm. Er verstarb mit 86 Jahren mitten im ersten Weltkrieg im November 1916.  Seine geliebte Frau Elisabeth, besser bekannt als Sisi, war nur anfangs an seiner Seite. Sie bevorzugte wärmere Gefilde und versuchte das strenge Zeremoniell des Wiener Hofs zu meiden.

Gemeinsam hatten die beiden vier Kinder, drei Töchter und einen Sohn. Ihr einziger Sohn, Kronprinz Rudolf, verübte in jungen Jahren Selbstmord gemeinsam mit seiner Geliebten Mary Vetsera. Dies ging als die Tragödie von Mayerling in die Geschichte ein.

 

Bis zum Beginn des 20. Jh. hielten die Habsburger den Vielvölkerstaat mit einer Bevölkerungszahl von ca. 51 Millionen Einwohnern in 13 Ländern zusammen. Das Attentat auf den Thronfolger Franz Ferdinand in Sarajewo am 28.6.1914 war einer der Auslöser des 1. Weltkrieges, der von 1914 bis 1918 dauerte.

Der letzte Habsburgerkaiser war Karl I, der Großneffe von Franz Joseph I.  Karl regierte nur zwei Jahre von 1916 - 1918, also bis zum Ende der Monarchie. Er wurde gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Zita ins Exil nach Madeira geschickt, da er nie offiziell als Kaiser abdankte.

1918 endete die Herrschaft des Hauses Habsburg-Lothringen nach 640 Jahren mit der Niederlage im 1. Weltkrieg. In Österreich wurde im November 1918 die Erste Republik ausgerufen.

 

Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser, um diese Website korrekt darzustellen. Den Browser jetzt aktualisieren

×